Victoriana Cocktail

It is Mixology Monday again and for a change I am not weeks early. It is Victoria Day weekend here in Canada. The theme for this MXMO is “I’ll take Manhattan.” I well remember my first Manhattan. My college roommate had a part time resto job and came home all enthusiastic about them. We had cheap whisky, cheap vermouth – I didn’t like it at all. But since my taste buds have refined somewhat with age, it has become a favourite.

Still – how to reconcile such an American theme with Victoria Day? Well, the only way I can – with a typically Canadian compromise.

Victoriana Cocktail

  • 2 oz Dark Horse whisky
  • 1/2 oz Dolin sweet vermouth
  • 1/2 oz Pimm’s #1 cup
  • 1/4 oz black currant simple syrup
  • Few dashes Dillons DSB bitters

Stir in an ice-filled shaker until frosty and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Rule Britannia! Or maybe I should say Cool Britannia!

Here is the wrap-up of all the fabulous Manhattans!

Please visit the web site of our convivial compère, Frederic

Mixology Monday

1 thought on “Victoriana Cocktail

Leave a comment