Apple Feni cocktail 


I like to fish and I like to drink cocktails, so when I saw a fish-shaped spirit bottle at our local liquor emporium, on sale no less, I had to have it. I then read up on feni, which is a liquor made in Goa, India from cashew apples, the fruit of the more famous (around here, anyway) nut. It has a very strong taste and aroma, and I thought for a cocktail that I would lighten it with apple. Even with the added apple flavour, the nut taste comes through. The liquor I used is called Fish and Feni; apparently fried fish and feni go together like a horse and carriage.

  • 1 oz cashew apple feni
  • 1 oz vodka
  • 1 oz apple vinegar drink (purchased, as I did, in an Asian grocery, or you can make an apple shrub)
  • 1/4 oz apple syrup (purchased, or recipe here)

Shake well over ice and strain into cocktail glasses.

Leave a Reply

