Plum Clementine Shrub

IMG_0197.JPG

One of my favourite bartenders, Bethann McLaren at The Harbord Room in Toronto, turned me on to shrubs awhile back. A shrub is a beverage made from fruit, sugar, and vinegar. You make the shrub first and then use it as a cocktail ingredient. I have been meaning to make my own shrubs since then but, somehow, it has never happened. But today in our local Asian supermarket I discovered packaged fruit vinegar drinks, and I realized they were basically cheater shrubs! I assume they must be widely available in Asian grocery stores. I bought the plum variety and it is pleasantly sour and subtly plummy. I decided to pair it with clementine, since I had some around.

Muddle half a clementine in the bottom of a cocktail shaker. Add ice and

2 oz plum vinegar drink
1 1/2 oz gin

Shake well and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Garnish with an orange peel.

2 thoughts on “Plum Clementine Shrub

  1. I have been making shrubs for the last couple of months and they are delightful. Some experimentation has been necessary to get the right balance but they are shelf stable, well worth the time and change over time as the vinegar mellows. I will have to hunt around and see if I can find those pre-packs. We have a local shrub company called Genkai-sue but I can almost never find them in stores.

Leave a Reply

