Mixology Monday: Crabapple Jelly cocktail

IMG_0051-1.JPG

IMG_0151.JPG

One of my earliest memories is of sharing an apple with my mother. She would cut slices with a sharp knife: one for her, then one for me. I did not realize at the time that people bit into apples or that she used a knife because of her dentures; I thought this was the way everyone ate apples. My family drove to a local U-pick orchard every fall and it was a major highlight for me. When my husband and I bought our house, I wouldn’t say that the fact it had a crabapple tree in the front yard and a heritage variety apple tree in the back yard was a major selling point, but it didn’t hurt!

So when Frederic of CocktailVirgin set the Mixology Monday challenge this month, I knew I had to take part. This is a variation on two of my earlier cocktails, the Uisge Apple Sour and the Apple Jelly cocktail. I used my homemade crabapple jelly, but you can substitute any nice store-bought apple jelly. I added lemon juice for zip and Peychaud’s for added flavour and colour.

2 tsp apple jelly
1/2 oz freshly squeezed lemon juice

Shake the jelly and juice together over ice. Then add

1 1/2 oz rye whisky
1 oz Berentzen Apfelkorn apple liqueur (you can substitute applejack or Calvados)
1/4 tsp Peychaud’s bitters

Shake well and strain into an ice-filled cocktail glass or, if feeling nostalgic, into a jelly jar. The jelly will likely settle a bit into the bottom of the glass, no matter how hard you shake. Consider it your end-of-cocktail reward!

Here is the MXMO roundup with all of the yummy apple drinks!

Mixology Monday

CocktailVirgin

Leave a Reply

