Zingiber cocktail

20131124-161849.jpg

I love ginger. My first drink of choice in my young and foolish days was rye and ginger ale. I don’t keep ginger ale in the house anymore but some days crave it, and today was one of those days, so I made up a batch of ginger syrup (recipe below) and made this cocktail with it. It’s not any more impressive looking than my rye and ginger ale of old, but it hits the spot.

1 oz spiced rum
1 oz passion fruit juice
1/2 oz Lillet Blanc
2 oz strong ginger ale

Gently stir ingredients together in an ice-filled old fashioned or rocks glass.

If you have some time on your hands and some fresh ginger, make your own ginger ale using soda water and this delicious ginger syrup recipe by David Lebovitz.

Leave a Reply

