Homemade grenadine

I often recommend homemade grenadine in my instructions. Okay, I *always* recommend homemade grenadine. There are now some reliable places to get decent grenadine, but it is very quick and easy to make your own. Here’s a little video I did to explain how to do it. Not the most professional video in the world, because I suck at doing videos, but it explains the (very simple) procedure well enough (note that when I say “medium-high saucepan,” what I mean is “a saucepan set to medium-high heat.”) Having done this a few times, I can safely say I will never be buying grenadine from a store again. The colour is much more intense and the flavour is so much better. It keeps well in the fridge in a clean mason jar. Do yourself a favour and make some for your next cocktail!

The recipe is adapted from Mix Shake Stir: Recipes from Danny Meyers’ Acclaimed New York City Restaurants.

http://www.amazon.com/Mix-Shake-Stir-Acclaimed-Restaurants/dp/B003P2VDJM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361203020&sr=8-1&keywords=mix+shake+stir

Leave a Reply

